If you have any doubts, take a closer look at your DD-214. i know what a combat veteran is. Well thank God congress got it right putting the definition into law, otherwise those who served there would not be eligible for many VA benefits, particularly Agent Orange claims. He was one of the most decorated American combat soldiers of World War II. If you prefer to differentiate who served in country and who did not, then the arithmetic must divide the groups into two lists accordingly. Clearly, the New York Times is referring to Vietnam-era veterans, not Vietnam veterans. Which Statement Best Describes How Americans In The 1960S Felt About The Vietnam War? C 3/17 Air Cav. Could this be friendly fire on a beautiful Sunday? So I was in the Army National Guard during the Iraq War, So I guess I am An Iraq War Veteran. How many ww2 vets left 2021? The last combat veteran was Claude Choules, who served in the British Royal Navy (and later the Royal Australian Navy) and died 5 May 2011, aged 110. Active duty 70-71, Quang Tri, Khe Sahn, Danny. The youngest Vietnam Veteran is aged in the late 60s today with life expectances estimated at 86 years old (for normal people). If you were in Vietnam, you were exposed to Agent Orange, period. A number 1/2 the peak, say 250,000 still seems high but would come closer to 3,000,000 number serving. Not sure where we were. There is no definitive answer to this question as the number of World War 2 veterans who die each day varies depending on the specific situation. My husband was awarded several (door gunner w/191st AHC Bounty Hunters). fired on coming up river, a few other things. This is a suicide rate of 1 EVERY 65-80 minutes (APPROX). I agree with the rest of your post, and so did the Army. 7,484 women served in Vietnam, 83.5% being nurses. These numbers were not included since these service members were far removed from combat experience and did not spend any amount of time in harms way. So he goes to Camp Wolter Texas for his 11 mont